Laws & Policies in Minnesota
Social Host Ordinance (SHO) prohibits and establishes penalties for any person hosting an event or gathering where alcohol is present and is being possessed or consumed by persons under 21 years of age. A violation of the SHO is a misdemeanor, which is punishable by imprisonment for up to 90 days and/or a $1,000 fine.
Sherburne County has a county-wide Social Host Ordinance as well as the following 7 cities:
Minnesota laws should make any person think twice about providing alcohol to someone else. You could be charged with a gross misdemeanor, go to jail for up to one year, and be fined up to $3,000. In addition, an adult who provides alcohol to an underage drinker can be sued for any damages that result.
Kevin's Law - Brockway Bill (Minnesota Statute 340A.701)
Increases criminal penalties from a gross misdemeanor to a felony for a person of any age who provides alcohol to someone under 21 if death or great bodily harm results.
Civil Cause of Action - ZAP Bill (Minnesota Statute 340A.90)
Expands civil liability to include cases of adult provision of alcohol to youth. Allows injured parties the right to sue the adult provider to recover their damages.
Beer Keg Registration (Minnesota Statute 340A.701)
All beer kegs sold in Minnesota must have a unique ID number that links the keg to the purchaser. This information will allow local law enforcement to trace beer kegs and charge any adult who provides alcohol to minors.
Not a Drop (Minnesota Statute 169A.33)
If you are under 21 and you drink and drive, even if under .08 blood alcohol content, you could face misdemeanor charges, lose your license from 30-180 days, have to pay fines, and see an increase in your insurance premiums. If your alcohol-concentration level is .08 or more, regular DWI laws apply instead of the underage consumption while driving offense.
Sherburne County Curfew Times: It is unlawful for any juvenile age 17 years and under to be present in any public place within Sherburne County after the hours listed.
Other drug Laws
Minnesota law covers a wide range of drug offenses, including the sale or possession of various types of drugs. Crimes and penalties can change with each legislative session.
For information on Minnesota laws related to controlled substances, go to https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=152.